Chocolates from Bariloche

Patagonia’s Tastiest Products

I spent the Christmas holiday in the Patagonia Lake District, about a 20-hour drive south of Buenos Aires. It was the perfect time to be in the area, as the relative cold and snow-capped surrounding mountains gave the place the wintry, festive feel I am used to around Christmas, though it was still early summer. Another major reason I was in my typical holiday spirit was thanks to the rich regional goodies, specifically chocolates.

Some of the country’s finest artesenal chocolates, beers and jams are produced in Patagonian Lake District towns, and many are available only there. I was sure to get my fill while in town, and also stock up on some to bring back home. Below is some of the edible best of Patagonia.

part 1: Chocolate

Bariloche, the “Argentine Swiss Alps” is heaven for a chocolate lover. Numerous factories in town churn out truffles, chocolate bars, and chocolate candies sell them at their own local stores, which, with the smell of fresh chocolate wafting out, I found impossible to pass without entering. All brands sell their version of chocolate en rama, a popular and Bariloche-unique form chocolate is crafted into that somewhat resembles a tree trunk or tight cluster of small branches.

Rapa Nui Chocolate en rama

Rapa Nui Chocolate en rama, by Karina for TKGO

My personal artesenal chocolate stores—and I took it upon myself to try the majority of them—were Rapa Nui, Chocolates del Turista (in my opinion it has the best “chocolate en rama”) and Mamuschka. Take a self-guided tour and pop in and out of chocolate stores for free samples.

Mamuschka

Mamuschka, by Karina for TKGO

How I wish I still had one piece of chocolate en rama, or rather the willpower to have saved one. Instead, I’ll divert my focus into putting together three more posts about Patagonia’s tastiest products.

Karina for TKGO

2 responses to “Chocolates from Bariloche

  1. Well, I’ve always lusted after visiting Bariloche. And I can’t believe I’ve been to Argie 8X and have never made it down South. Having said that, now I’m lusting after the place for a whole other reason. Droooool, I’m SUCH a chocolate fanatic.

  2. Ah, Bariloche…if ever there was a town with a sweet-tooth, this is it.
    I travelled through many years ago (97) and was compelled to send a box of truffles home to Australia. (No surprise there were none left when I returned). Delicious.

    I also recall there being no shortage of icecream either. Not so easy to send in the post but, hello dulce de leche favour!

Leave a Reply

