Sport Remixes

As of late, my nights out have taken playful turns. Last week I experienced glow-in-the-dark miniature golf for the first time — which I highly recommend, by the way — and then a few days later I found myself bowling at a bar. Just to clarify, it wasn’t a bowling alley with a bar (which is pretty standard); it was a bar with a bowling alley.

Putting Edge is a psychedelic, indoor mini golf course (and arcade, but I didn’t care as much about that). Now, I’ve always found mini golf pretty dull, but apparently all I needed was some glow-in-the-dark paint, golf balls and black lights to start liking the recreation. Who knew?

 

The Putting Edge course

 

As for Seven Ten, it’s a hybrid bowling alley, lounge and billiards hall, being almost equally those three parts. The different features of the venue blend together well, though, and the slamming around of bowling balls is hardly heard. The decor is Art Deco, amping up the classiness of the space, which is large yet still intimate. (The three separate but connected sections probably help that.)

 

Seven Ten

 

This post wouldn’t be complete without at least a mention of Whirlyball, which I didn’t discover until settling in the Chicago area but love. It’s somewhat a combination of bumper cars and basketball; you zoom around in bumper-like cars (there are two teams) and use a scoop to collect, pass or shoot the wiffle ball into an elevated hoop. Check out this link to see a video of people playing.

I wouldn’t mind continuing this sporty(-ish) streak, so let me know if you have any recommendations!

Karina for TKGO

Leave a Reply

